Alan Moore: Promethea – Review

Promethea has been my first venture in the world of graphic novels and I have to say I’m blown away. In the first and second volumes Moore takes the reader on a roller coaster ride through imagination, spirituality, philosophy and mysticism which is exquisitely accompanied by an array of psychedelic art that pushes the boundaries of what can be considered comic book illustration – on almost every page (see below).

Although this is essentially comic book with a ‘super hero’ undertones, it is also a materialisation of Moore’s own philosophy. For me personally the way Moore metaphorically focuses on the realm of imagination as being just as real as the physical world really changed the way I looked at spirituality and mysticism. Previously I had always been a huge sceptic of these ideas but Promethea really made me analyse my biases in a way that nothing I’ve read has before. Perhaps you couldn’t discount mysticism if the non-material world of imagination plays as much role in our lives as the physical world? To the less adventurously inclined reader this may be a negative point, however as Moore himself states:

‘there are 1000 comic books on the shelves that don’t contain a philosophy lecture and one that does. Isn’t there room for that one?’.

I don’t know how much I can completely agree with Moore’s self proclaimed ‘philosophy lecture’ but Promethea did what any good piece of philosophical art should do, it made me reevaluate some of the things I held as indubitable. Whether you sympathise with the philosophical aspect of this comic or not, I’d have to to say that there is indeed room for the ‘that one’.

Can’t wait to read the next three volumes and discover how the story unfolds!

Leave a Reply

