Alan Moore: Promethea, Vol. 5 – Review

I honestly think the ending of this series was one of the most mind bending pieces of reality blurring literature I’ve ever read. No, I’ll go further. It’s one of the most mind bending pieces of reality blurring literature that has ever been published. Reading this, along with Borges’ Labyrinths, absolutely changed my view on what literature can do. The slow gradual progression through the Occultist, Kabbalistic adventure of the earlier volumes, to this, the ‘Godhead’ volume, felt to me like being thrown into the depths of a powerful psychedelic trip. This volume is the moment you break through.

It’s confusing.
It’s beautiful.
It’s fun.
It’s powerful.
It’s philosophical.
It’s enlightening.

It’s a book of ideas as much as it’s a book of artistic ingenuity. Start for the fun, stay for the art, and leave with your mind thoroughly twisted. I’ve been trying to get many of my friends to read this for going on 3 years now with very little success, but if anyone stumbles upon this review I honestly just say take the plunge and don’t come out until the end. You won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

